Stamps Coins Notes: Biafra Country Details Biafra Flag

Back to country list.

Demonym: Biafran
Population: 13,500,000 (1967)
Government: defunct - government no longer exists
Capital City: Enugu
Currency: Biafran Pound
Currencies Issued: pound
Independence: 1967 from Nigeria
Area: 76,145 square km

Biafra is a country that was created in 1967 when the Igbo region seceded from Nigeria. At the end of the Nigerian civil war in 1970 it was re-integrated into the country. It was only recognized by a handful of nations, mostly African, during its existence.

The area where this country is located used to be called nigeria.

This country no longer exists. It was followed by Nigeria.

Number of bank notes in catalogue: 1

Number of coins in catalogue: 0

Number of stamps in catalogue: 0

Back to country list.