Malawi  Coat of Arms Stamps Coins Notes: Malawi Country Details Malawi Flag

Back to country list.

Map of Malawi

Map of Malawi

Bordering Countries: Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia
Demonym: Malawian
Motto: "Unity and Freedom"
Population: 17,377,468 (2014)
Population Growth Rate: 3.33% (2014)
Government: presidential republic
Capital City: Lilongwe
Capital Coordinates: 13°57′S 33°42′E
Capital Time Zone: UTC+2
Currency: Kwacha
Currency Code: MWK
Currencies Issued: kwacha pound tambala
GDP: $5.1 billion (2010)
Per Capita Income: $322 (2010)
GDP Growth Rate: 5.00% (2013)
Inflation Rate: 26.90% (2013)
Foreign Debt: $1.3 billion (2011)
ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 Country Code: MW
Internet Country Code: .mw
Number of Internet Users: 716400 (2009)
Calling Code: 265
Electrical Generation Capacity: 287000 kW (2010)
Independence: 1964 from United Kingdom
Area: 118,484 square km (94,080 km land) (24,404 km water)
Lowest Point: Shire River at Mozambique (37 m)
Highest Point: Mount Mlanje (3,002 m)
Life Expectancy: 59.99 years (2014)
Fertility Rate: 5.66 (2014)
Infant Mortality Rate: 48.01 per 1000 (2014)
HIV Prevalence: 10.80% (2012)
Adult Obesity Prevalence: 4.30% (2008)
Human Development Index: 0.400 (2011)
Corruption Perception Index: 3.0 (2011)
Literacy: 62.70 percent

The area where this country is located used to be called rhodesia-and-nyasaland.

Number of bank notes in catalogue: 14

Number of coins in catalogue: 2

Number of stamps in catalogue: 32

Location of Malawi in Africa

Regional Map for Malawi

Major Cities

Blantyre (Population 732518)
Chipoka (Population 5132)
Karonga (Population 42555)
Lilongwe [Capital] (Population 902388)
Mzuzu (Population 175345)
Nkhata Bay (Population 14722)
Nkhotakota (Population 33150)
Zomba (Population 101140)




Zambezi River


Lake Chilwa
Lake Malawi

Stock Exchange

Malawi Stock Exchange

Back to country list.