South Sudan (Southern Sudan) Coat of Arms Stamps Coins Notes: South Sudan Country Details South Sudan Flag

Back to country list.

Map of South Sudan

Map of South Sudan

Also Known As: Southern Sudan
Bordering Countries: Central African Republic, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Uganda
Demonym: South Sudanese
Motto: "Justice, Liberty, Prosperity"
Population: 10,204,581 (2018)
Population Growth Rate: 4.12% (2014)
Government: presidential republic
Capital City: Juba
Capital Coordinates: 04°51′N 31°36′E
Capital Time Zone: UTC+2
Currency: South Sudanese Pound
Currency Code: SSP
Currencies Issued: piastre
GDP: $13.2 billion (2011)
Per Capita Income: $1,546 (2011)
Inflation Rate: 187.90% (2017)
ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 Country Code: SS
Internet Country Code: .ss
Calling Code: 211
Electrical Generation Capacity: 255200 kW (2010)
Independence: 2011 from Sudan
Area: 644,329 square km
Highest Point: Kinyeti (3,187 m)
Life Expectancy: 49.00 years Fertility Rate: 5.66 (2012)
Infant Mortality Rate: 68.16 per 1000 (2014)
HIV Prevalence: 2.70% (2012)
Literacy: 27.00 percent

The area where this country is located used to be called sudan.

Number of bank notes in catalogue: 1

Number of coins in catalogue: 0

Number of stamps in catalogue: 0

Location of South Sudan in Africa

Regional Map for South Sudan

Major Cities

Aweil (Population 100000)
Bentiu (Population 7700)
Bor (Population 26800)
Juba [Capital] (Population 372410)
Malakal (Population 139450)
Nimule (Population 45000)
Rumbek (Population 32100)
Torit (Population 20050)
Wau (Population 151320)



Back to country list.